Arkansas- submitted by email@example.comFrom state code 27-20, 101 through 107: Required: Automatic transmission, 50 cc or less, headlight, tail light, reflector, brakes, horn,tags, registration, helmet under 21yo. Rider must use goggles or have a transparent windshield in place. Motorcycle licence required.
Colorado - submitted by MrBill812@aol.comTe state law in Colorado is that 1. you must have a valid drivers license to ride a moped, 2. the moped doesn't have to have a plate on it if it is 50cc or under or doesn't exceed 30mph. You also have to have pedals on the moped, for it to be considered a motorized bike... I can't remember where I found the info, but I think it was in the drivers license handbook or maybe an internet site... I think you'll find the police aren't well informed of moped laws. I live in Fort Collins and ride almost daily using bike lanes, and other then a strange look from the police once in a while I have not been hassled.
Florida - submitted by Steven W. Buehler
Indiana - update by Chris PetersSome police officers around the Lafayette/Indianapolis area are pulling kids over for no eye gear. (Ex. Goggles, Face mask, exc.) There is an $80 fine for no eyewear. Even if you have a visor for example, but you are riding with it up. They give no mercy. 80 bucks! Just some warning.
Iowa - submitted by Ace
"Mopeds" are any single-passenger two-wheeled vehicle with a displacement of 50cc or less. In fact, you almost never see actual pedal mopeds here, it's all scooters and bikes like my '79 QT50. You can drive one at 14 (if you take a moped safety course) or with a normal drivers' license.
Mopeds must display a dippy neon flag. As far as I know, no helmet is required. Enforcement is pretty lax -- I ride without a flag, with a passenger, no helmet, etc. quite often and I have never had police trouble yet.
Oh yes -- top speed 25, but I've never seen it enforced as long as posted speed limits are obeyed.
Kansas- submitted by firstname.lastname@example.orgCode KSA8-1439A. 3.5 BHP, 130cc, Automatic trans., 30 mph, registration, drivers licence, headlight, tail light, reflector, brakes, helmet if under 18yo, minimum age 14yo. No mention of reciprocity.
Maryland - submitted by email@example.comSection 11-134.1. Moped. "Moped" means a bicycle that: (1) Is designed to be operated by human power with the assistance of a motor; (2) Is equipped with pedals that mechanically drive the rear wheel or wheels; (3) Has two or three wheels, of which one is more than 14 inches in diameter; (4) Has a motor with a rating of 1.5 brake horsepower or less and, if the motor is an internal combustion engine, a capacity of 50 cubic centimeters poston displacement of less. (1978, ch. 328; 1979, ch. 65). 16-101 (b) "Motor-assisted bicycles" require a driver's license or moped operator's permit regardless of residency status. and 16-104.2. "Moped operator's permit" precludes anyone under 16 or whose license or privelege to drive in any State is revoked, suspended, refused, or cancelled.
Michigan - investigated by Andrei ZaitsevI spoke to
Motorsport Co 1834 W Court St Flint, MI (810) 239-7191
and this is what I found out:
If you are 15 year old, you need to get special moped permit.
Minnesota - submitted by firstname.lastname@example.org(DMV pamphlet) 50cc, 2 BHP, 30 mph, Valid Drivers licence, 15yo minimum, registration, plate, no operatin on interstates, headlight, stop light/tail light, headlight always lit, eye protection required (not specified), horn, r.v. mirror, helmet if under 18yo which must be ANSI approved.
MississippiTitling a scooter or moped with the Mississippi Motor Vehicle Licensing (MVL) Bureau is optional, but you must register for a tag (license plate) if you plan to drive such a vehicle on the roadways. Most people go ahead and title the scooter or moped at the same time; you'll need a title to sell the vehicle.
The process is much the same as registering a motorcycle. You have seven days from purchase to register your bike with your local tax collector's office. You'll need to provide the manufacturer's certificate of origin if the vehicle is new or the original title signed over to you if you bought a used vehicle.
You'll also need to provide a bill of sale and a current odometer reading.
The first-time registration fee is $10, and the state also collects ad valorem, privilege, and sales tax based on the value and type of vehicle.
Missouri - as recalled by Andrei Zaitsev
Any vehicle under 50cc and going <=30mph is considered a moped. Pedals are not required, so small scooters by Yamaha and Honda can qualify too.
Moped is permitted on all roads, except interstate highways. It is ok to ride on shoulder, but not on the sidewalk.
Helmet is recommended but not required. Special license, plates, insurance are not required.
Minimum age to ride moped is 16. There might be a way to start at 15 1/2, because this is the min age when you can get a motorcycle learner's permit. Check with local License Bureau about that.
Missouri - as summarized by Pat DoreGreetings all:
After an email to the Missouri Highway Patrol, I recieved a copy of the statutes involving "motorized bicycles:
1.Must have drivers license
2.No use on interstate highways
3.Not more than 50ccs
4.Less than 30mph on level grade
5.Ride as far to right as possible
6.Less than 3 brake horsepower
Nothing else except standard lighting, brakes, and auto transmission
Hope this sets some minds at rest.
All the best, Pat Dore
Montana - submitted by John SnyderAfter making some phone calls to different government offices I discovered -- and am still slightly confused by it -- in Montana, USA a bicycle was defined in 1979 as having;
2-3 wheels touching the ground. Functioning pedals that allow the operator to propel the vehicle without assistance. If equipped with an auxilary power source the motor will not exceed 2 BHP and/or [ed. ?] 50cc. The auxilary motor will not permit the vehicle to exceed 30 mph.
If these limits are exceeded the vehicle becomes subject to all regulations pertaining to motorcycles -- i.e. DMV title, headlights, tail lights, turn signals, motorcycle operator endorsement to an individual's Driver's License, vehicle license plate and vehicle registration within the county of residence. There are no separate legal provisions for MOPEDS, electric bicycles or AHPV 4-wheeled vehicles such as a quadracycle with any size/type auxilary motor or not.
Other than my confusion about motor size and power (was it "or", "and" or "and/or" ?), the clerk at the local DMV mentioned that if a power-assisted bicycle was able to exceeding 30 mph it could not be operated on public highways. Under 30 mph it's still a bicycle which can be operated on the highway.
Nebraska - submitted by email@example.comCode 60.6. 30 mph, 25 mph nights, 14yo, permit required, pedals, automatic trans., 50 cc, 2 BHP, Class O licence, light, tail light, helmet with a visor, no riders, both hands on handlebars, single file on state highways, banned on interstates, reciprocity with other states for 30 days.
New Jersey - submitted by John AgnerYou must be 15, wear a helmet, not exceed 25 mph operating speed, may operate on bike routes abutting streets, have a moped, car or motorcycle license, have insurance and plates, and to get plates, you must produce title to register (which is how one gets plates). Also, you can't carry a passenger, my pet peeve as my Vespa Grande was designed for two.
More NJ info - by Steve Hassa
NJ Moped laws are you be at least 15 years old to get a moped permit. After you pass a written test. you can drive during daylight hours only. After you pass a road test you get a permanent moped license. Any one that has an automobile license can drive a moped with no special license. You must wear a helmet, have a registration, insurance and license plate. Insurance is $78.00 a year at this time. Pedals required, 25mph maximum speed and 1.5 brake horsepower. This law was effective in June of 1983 and cut the number of moped sales in in NJ by approximate 70%.
New Mexico - submitted by Alex Kramer
nmsa1978 66-3-1101. Mopeds; standards; operator requirements; application of Motor Vehicle Code.
A. Mopeds shall comply with those motor vehicle safety standards deemed necessary and prescribed by the director of motor vehicles.
History: 1953 Comp., § 64-3-1101, enacted by Laws 1978, ch. 35, § 213; 1981, ch. 361, § 17.
New York Moped Laws
North Carolina - submitted by JimThis is direct quote from the North Carolina Department of Transportation website:
"You must be age 16 or older to operate a moped on North Carolina highways or public vehicular areas. A driver's license is not required, and the moped does not have to be registered, inspected or covered by liability insurance. A motorcycle safety helmet is required by law when operating a moped on North Carolina highways. A moped cannot have a motor of more than 50 cubic centimeters, an external shifting device or have the capability of exceeding 30 miles per hour on a level surface."
Ohio - collected by Greg and Dan KauffmanI am holding in my hand a brochure from the Ohio Department of Public safety. It states the requirements for operating a moped.
ADDITIONALLY, you must-
I was also told I needed insurance, So I got a liability only policy, cost about 30 bucks.
Oklahoma - submitted by firstname.lastname@example.orgRegistration, title, tags. Banned on interstates and limited access roads. Pedals, automatic trans., 50cc, 2BHP, 30 mph, insurance requird. No inspection, no licence. Law has been amended to remove peds from legal motor vehicle category for some issues.
Oregon - submitted by catrinus.wallet@bangate1.TEK.COMWhere I live, in Oregon, the law is that you must have a regular drivers' license to drive a moped... Also, the moped MUST have license plates and liability insurance.
Also, they are considered motor vehichles, so mopeds may NOT use any of the wonderful bike paths that are being built in the Portland area. I truly believe that this is the single most important reason why mopeds have never caught on in most places in the USA -- it's just too nerve wracking to compete with autos on most city streets, especially when you're doing the speed limit (25 or 30 mph) round town and all of the yahoos insist on going 45. Also, the cars seem to get angry because I'm not riding in the bike lane! I wonder if there is an advocacy group around that could start to work on the issue of letting mopeds to use street bike lanes.
By the way, in Oregon the dept of Motor Vehicles puts out a book called "Motorcycle and Moped Handbook" which details all of the requirements for mopeds. Perhaps other states do as well.
To reply to me directly, please send e-mail to Catrinus.Wallet@juno.com
Oregon - added by Stelapig@aol.comIn Oregon, you do not need a drivers license to drive a moped, you can get a moped license, which i have, or you can drive a moped with just a drivers license, or a motorcycle license... To drive with a moped license, or for the bike to be a moped in Oregon, it must be under 50 cc's.
Pennsylvania - as researched by Andrei ZaitsevI spoke to the guy from
Bob Sauers' Cycle Shop in PA
Very helpful salesman!
As far as Pennsylvania regulations, here they are:
South Dakota - submitted by Jeff Coplan...
Moped is defined as a motorized vehicle with two wheels that doesn't exceed 50 cc's and doesn't travel over 30 mph. Must have a headlight visible from 100 ft. Must have a tail light visible from 250 ft. Must wear eye protection. Must possess a driver's license (doesn't have to be motorcycle endorsed)
Tennessee - submitted by Bridget FlynnHi, Andy - I'm sending you this info so you could post it on your Moped Laws page...this is straight from the person (a state trooper) in our state's DMV who coordinates the state motorcycle safety program. He read it to me over the phone from TN statute, so I'd say it's pretty reliable.
Under 16 - motorscooter permit required 16 and up - regular driver's licence required (motorcycle license not required) All "motorized bicycles" including mopeds must have tags if they are to be driven on the road.
Interestingly, there is a local moped dealer who may get in a bit of trouble as a result of my inquiry...he's telling people that you don't need a license or tags with a moped. I came very close to buying one from him, and probably would've ended up getting stopped on my way home! Fortunately, he also charges WAY too much $ and something told me, "there's something wrong with this guy." :-/ I notice he's not listed on your dealer list either.
Tennessee - updated on 10 Nov 2005 by Christian GriffithI have just investigated the official TN Code as of today, November 10, 2005, and here is what I found:
Under 55-3-101, “motorized bicycles” do not have to be registered with the DMV (you can voluntarily register your “motorized bicycle, if you want to). If you look at 55-8-101, you’ll see that a “motorized bicycle” is any kind of moped or scooter that meets the following requirements:
1) Is not designed to travel faster than 30 MPH.
2) Motor is no greater than 50cc’s and makes no more than 2HP.
Owners of “motorized bicycles,” however, are required to wear a crash helmet, as stipulated by 55-9-302.
Also, here's some additional, helpful information: 55-8-101, while providing the official definition for "motorized bicycle," also states that these "motorized bicycles" MUST be driven by an individual with a valid operator's license (motorcycle endorsement not necessary) and can NEVER be driven on the highway.
Texas - submitted by email@example.comRequired: light (always lit), horn, directionals, tail light or reflector, stop light(s), r.v. mirror. Approved helmet required. No riders unless ped has 2 seats (sidecars excepted). Inspection sticker required for TX residents. 30mph limit, 50cc, 2 BHP. No muffler cutouts. Liability insurance required . Medical coverage required on rider. Class "M" Drivers Licence. Texas has reciprocity with all other states but Wisconsin & Michigan to allow passage of other state's peds and legal drivers IF THEY HAVE TAGS. Constant lights not required on pre-1975 models not so equipped.
Virginia Moped Laws - as of August 2006
Virginia - submitted by Bob MeadowsI have a moped and checked with our DMV---seems that engines of < 85 cc and pedals are the only requirements. Helmets not req'd but suggested. Also no insurance, but a small "personal liability policy" is a good idea ($50,000).
Good luck and have fun.
More on Virginia - submitted by Ted SchwartzbeckI bought a Yamaha Riva 49cc today, 6-17-98 in Herndon. No vehicle license, title or inspection is required; no drivers license is required; no insurance is required. Helmets are required of all moped drivers. Headlights, turn signals and brake lights are required. 2 passengers are permissible when there is the extra seat and footpegs. Mopeds may not be driven on highways or roads with permissible speed limits over 45 mph. If one's drivers license is suspended or revoked for any reason one cannot operate a moped so it is not an alternative to a car after a loss of license. Ted Schwartzbeck
Even more Virginia - sent by firstname.lastname@example.orgThe 1999-2000 Virginia Driver's Manual p.3-10 specifies: "Mopeds: Under Virginia Law, a moped is a bicycle-like device with pedals and a helper motor. The motor cannot be rated at more than two horsepower or enable the moped to travel more than 30 MPH. Moped riders must be at least 16 years old and must obey all rules of the road. As a driver, treat moped riders with the same care given to any other vehicle driver. Although you do not need a driver's license to operate a moped, you may not operate a moped if you have been adjudged a habitual offender and your license is suspended. You may not operate a moped if your license has been suspended for failure to file financial responsibility with DMV." There is no reference whatever to mopeds in the Virginia Motorcycle Operator Manual. There are numerous specifications for mopeds within the state Transportation Code, some of which are picayune, but common sense is the prime consideration (unlike Maryland or DC), and local juristictions may impose particular requirements more stringent than the state code.
Yet another bit on Virginia - submitted by DGoncz@aol.com
Here in the Commonwealth of Virginia, which separated from what is now West Virginia during the Civil War, the "State" defines a moped as a bicycle-like device with pedals and a helper motor. The last time I looked was in 1992, I think. The Fairfax County Regional Library has the Code, and I can look at it at the local branch, the Woodrow Wilson branch. Of course, the pedals must be working. The lockable pedals on my Derbi DS-50 were of concern to officers who stopped my uncle when he had the moped. A visit to court made a determination and that record also could be found and added to your site. Any kind of strap or kludge would be trouble. Proper operation of the Derbi pedals after stopping and engaging them immediately proves to the officer that "it's a moped". Mechanically, a broken decompressor valve will prevent you from demonstrating this operation to the officer, even though the engine might start and run. Keep them working!
The City of Falls Church requires a helmet, but I hadn't heard that the state does. Virginia did pass seatbelt and helmet laws within the last several years, and it's been years since I rode.
The horsepower rating is 2.0. Electric power is not specifically ruled out. Operation of any motorized vehicle, even an electric wheelchair or mobility assistance device, is not allowed in many parks, such as the well known Four Mile Run Trail. There are various parks, local, regional, and state. I am attempting to add a spare Derbi electric starter motor without the usual planetary gearing to the other side of my Derbi's engine, with the starter to provide an initial push in the usual way, and the ungeared starter motor operating at six times that speed providing a transition to around ten miles an hour. An old Interstate truck battery will provide the power. I'll let you know if I have legal trouble with this setup. I have a Honda Insight gas/electric parallel hybrid two place automobile owners manual which doesn't really say a lot about this and can explain torque and power to police officers most effectively with a chart I can draw up before I hit the road. The electric and gas engines complement each other well and can provide 2HP from stall to top speed when properly mated and rated.
Possession of a driver's license is not required in Virginia to operate a moped but the operator must be eligible for a license. A DWI suspension, or simply being too young to drive, means you can't operate a moped either. At least not legally.
Vermont - submitted by Mike ZylinskiI am a resident of Vermont and recently bought a moped. Thought you might want to post the state laws on your page.
Drivers license only (no need for motorcycle)
Alberta, Canada - submitted by email@example.comA moped is a vehicle that: has no driver operated clutch or gearbox that transfers power to the driving wheel; an engine displacement of not more than 50cc; can not go faster then 50km/h on level ground; weighs more than 35 kg and less than 55kg. To operate a moped you must hold a valid operator's licence (any class). No special examination or endorsement is required.
British Columbia, Canada - submitted by Colin Ford
The moped regulations in BC are under the control of ICBC the
compulsory motor vehicle insurance. Insurance Corporation British
Columbia. They are as follows:
"Limited Speed Motorcycles"
means a motorcycle that,
Hope this information is useful. This is the latest regulation dated 5/97
Ontario, Canada - submitted by firstname.lastname@example.org
Ontario - updated on 14 Nov 2005 by Jason FowlerTo ride a moped on a public street in Ontario:
-vehicle engine has to be less than 50cc gas or less than 1500watts electric
Ontario - updated on 28 Nov 2005 by Roy HoldenNew licence for limited-speed motorcycle (LSM) and moped drivers
Effective November 28, 2005, there will be a new restricted Class M licence that restricts licence holder to operating a:
· limited-speed motorcycle (motor scooter) and
· motor-assisted bicycle (moped)
Starting November 28, 2005, moped drivers will have to hold a Class M licence or the new restricted Class M licence to operate their moped. You can no longer operate a moped holding any driver's licence. You need to pass a written test and starting Spring 2006 (when weather permits), you will need to complete both the M1 and M2 road tests and, if successful, you will receive a driver's licence that allows you to operate a limited-speed motorcycle (motor scooter) and moped only.
Quebec, Canada - submited by Martin Levac
Rules and regulations concerning a moped driver's license, registration and definition of a moped in the province of Quebec, Canada.
The term in french is cyclomoteur.
The definition of a moped, cyclomoteur:
A 2 or 3 wheel motorized vehicle for use on public roads that has an engine displacement of no more than 50 cm2 and an automatic transmission.
I haven't found any definition concerning electric engined mopeds.
The driver's license: Mandatory, class 6d or better.
Minimum age: 14 years of age.
Registration of the vehicle is mandatory.
To date, insurance for a moped is not mandatory but always a good thing for a new vehicle.
Need more information?
Check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles
or try Cornell's "Statutes by state" site