Web www.moped2.org
Maine Moped Laws

Maine Moped Laws

Motorized Scooters, Mopeds and Motorized Bicycles

SPECIAL NOTE:

  • You must have an operator's license to operate all scooters and mopeds on a public way.
  • All mopeds and many scooters must be registered.

Moped

A moped is a vehicle with not less than 2 brake horsepower and does not exceed 50 cc's and cannot exceed 30 miles per hour on a flat surface. A moped is equipped with a power drive system that functions automatically and does not require shifting. A moped may or may not have foot pedals

  • An operator's license or a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped endorsement or restriction is required.
  • Registration is required.
  • A moped must be operated single file and as far to the right at all times, except when turning left.
  • Operator of a moped must obey all other traffic laws.
Motorized Scooter

A motorized scooter is a vehicle less than 25 cc's or an electric driven motor vehicle not capable of exceeding a speed of over 25 miles per hour on a flat surface.

  • An operator's license is required.
  • Registration in not required.
  • The operator of a motorized scooter must ride to the right, except when making a left turn.
  • The vehicle may not be operated in excess of 20 m.p.h.
  • An operator may not ride other than astride a regular and permanently attached seat.
  • May not be used to carry more persons than the number for which it is designed for.
  • A person may not attach the vehicle to a moving vehicle on a public way.
  • Operator may travel on a paved shoulder.
  • A municipality may make other provisions for the location of motorized scooter traffic.
  • Operator of a motorized scooter must obey all other traffic laws.

Motorized Bicycle/Tricycle

A motorized bicycle/tricycle is a vehicle that has a motor attached to a wheel and is no more than 1.5 brake horsepower and has a cylinder capacity capable of propelling the vehicle unassisted at a speed of 25 m.p.h. or less on a level road surface. A motorized bicycle/tricycle may have foot pedals.

  • An operator's license or a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle or moped endorsement or restriction is required.
  • Registration is not required.
  • The operator of a motorized bicycle/tricycle must ride to the right, except when making a left turn.
  • The vehicle may not be operated in excess of 20 m.p.h.
  • An operator may not ride other than astride a regular and permanently attached seat.
  • May not be used to carry more persons than the number for which it is designed.
  • A person may not attach the vehicle to a moving vehicle on a public way.
  • Operator may travel on a paved shoulder.
  • A municipality may make other provisions for the location of motorized bicycle/tricycle traffic.
  • Operator of a motorized bicycle/tricycle must obey all other traffic laws.

    More Maine info

    Back to Moped Laws



    Forums at Moped2.org Privacy policy
    Moped2.org Home My other sites

    Home   Contact
    Wikipedia Affiliate Button