Web www.moped2.org
Colorado Moped Laws

Colorado Moped Laws

Moped Definition

A motorized bicycle is a vehicle with two or three wheels that has an automatic transmission, a cylinder capacity less than 50c.c., and cannot excede 30mph on a level surface. Vehicles not fitting the definition of a moped are classified as motorcycles

Moped Registration

Every moped needs to be registered with its stamped identification number. They need to be registered with the State Department of Revenue for a fee of $5.00, and the registration lasts for three years. The decal received upon registration must be placed in a conspicuous place on the frame of the moped. No license plate is required for mopeds.

Moped Licensing Information

Operator's of moped's must possess a valid minor or standard driver's license. Mopeds are allowed to be operated in any bike lanes if the operator has a valid driver's license.

Other Moped Laws

Any moped operated on a public road where moped travel is permitted must abide by all normal traffic rules. These include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Proof of Insurance
  • Forward facing light visible from 500 feet away
  • Rear facing reflector or lamp. A reflector must be visible from as far as 300 feet away. A lamp must be visible from 500 feet away
  • Must have a horn or audio device that can be heard from 100 feet away
  • An affixed brake that would skid if used on a dry surface

  • Mopeds are always subject to local laws and ordinances where they are being operated

    External Resources

    Colorado Department of Revenue DMV

    City of Loveland Moped laws

    City of Boulder Moped laws

    Back to main Moped Laws page



    Forums at Moped2.org Privacy policy
    Moped2.org Home My other sites

    Home   Contact
    Wikipedia Affiliate Button